“Tbilisi – Not the Same City Anymore”

By Fatma Babayeva

“Abraham Lincoln, the 16th president of the United States, said: “You can fool all the people some of the time, and some of the people all the time, but you cannot fool all the people all the time” — but the Georgian people have been fooled all the time by its rulers,” said 77-year-old Tsitsi Tsereteli.

“Today, I voted for a candidate (Zaal Udumashvili) because of my sympathy for him. Yesterday, I watched how he talked about losing his parents at an early age. He is a good journalist, and I like him, but we will see what will happen if he is elected”.

Tsereteli says that all her life she has witnessed how rulers deceived people.

“It does not matter for whom I vote,” she said. “I lost my belief in them. Parties and politicians change their values – some run after money, some leave the country. Firstly, they attract people to their side by various means. Then after a few years, people realize that they are being fooled, and then collapse starts again. It has become a vicious circle in Georgia.”

 “My children help me financially, but there are many people in the city who cannot find bread. It makes them become more and more aggressive.”

Tsereteli feels sad that young talented Georgians leave the country: “Young people are deserting the country due to the bad living conditions and lack of faith in their future in this country. The Western countries take the talented and beautiful ones, and leave only old sick and moronic young ones,” she said.

“In the streets of Tbilisi, there are very few Tbilisians. I seldom come across familiar faces. It is not the same city that it used to be. It is no longer complete. It has lost its free and beautiful people.”

 

Leave a comment